journal

I’m A Bad, Bad Man

The following post contains brief instances of profanity.  So, if that’s a problem, you may want to skip this post for, in it, I aim to misbehave.

I’M A BAD, BAD MAN

Okay, I’m sorry.

I should have shown restraint. I should have been a gentleman and tried to be a better man. Criticism should build and not tear down. Conversation should be constructive. These are things I often say, and mean, and by which I try to live.

…but I was weak. And sometimes I just cannot stand ignorance dressed up in the guise of articulate diction and pontificating its hollow notions from a virtual pulpit.  I had a moment of weakness and let slip the dogs of war.

I’M SORRY

I’m sorry but not because I did it.  I’m sorry that, a full day after the subject of my willful derision retreated with tail tucked firmly away, I don’t have any regret — none whatsoever.  I know how tempting it is to wield a bunch of ten-penny words like it is The Sword of a Thousand Truths but, in my own misguided, ego-driven zealotry, I have also learned that if you’re not, in fact, an expert on the topic in question then it is best to shut the fuck up.

So, it is my hope a lesson was learned which will make the gentleman re-evaluate his supposed expertise and thus open himself up to new experiences and personal growth.  …buuuut I have no illusion that I was engaged in altruism. I was engaged in an ego-driven exercise of neo-philosophical self-gratification.

LESSON LEARNED. AGAIN.

I will take this lapse in restraint as my own lesson.  I have learned that, in fact, any sense of superiority is wholly fallacious and I am reminded that being an ignoble, self-righteous prick is not and never will be beyond me.

Was the other guy more of an ignoble, self-righteous prick?  Yes.  That does not excuse my actions.  Nor does it excuse my glee at ‘winning’ but it does serve to remind me that, on any given day, I can be a bad, bad man.

About Angelo Barovier

I was born. I'll be around for a while. Then I won't.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “I’m A Bad, Bad Man

  1. Some times, some times, it is perfectly permissible to be a complete asshole. It’s not desirable, necessarily, and maybe not even completely acceptable, but some times, it is more than permissible.

    Posted by Dayasi | June 23, 2011, 7:52 pm
  2. Sounds like fun? Must have touched a nerve to set you off, you seem quite rational and calm (well as much as most other average person). He either doesnt like to hear the truth or doesnt want to,hence his exit from the conversation. No great loss is it? Dont let other folks ignorance drag you down or annoy you, its their problem, not yours. Oh, and if it helps, hell go kick that puppy!

    Posted by Stephen Reid | June 24, 2011, 4:52 am
    • Haha! That’s why it was a touch of evil. I knew, right off the bat, that he was an highly insecure person. It was that very aspect which I eventually tore into and, I suspect, was what sent him off.

      And, I wuve da wittle aminals too much to kick a puppy.

      Posted by Angelo Barovier | June 24, 2011, 6:14 am
  3. Come, join the Dark Side. Embrace your inner Sith.

    Besides, we have cookies.

    Posted by I R A Darth Aggie | July 5, 2011, 1:33 pm
  4. Ah Angelo :)

    Posted by Karma Heckard | August 2, 2011, 1:53 pm

Have Your Say

The Culprit

Hmmmm...
