minstrels and maestros

Music Monday – Chicken$%&# and Frank Turner

My friend and rare co-blogger Adam Bernstein recommended this song but refused to post it himself because he is an obstinate chicken$#!^. Between the two of us, he should be running the music around here.

However, in lieu of his petulant refusal to post his own damn music, I give you his selection.  Frank Turner‘s “Long Live The Queen”.  It’s a bittersweet song which affirms life by talking about death.  And it’s also a durned good song.

– – – – –

And, since it’s been far too long since I mentioned her name, I thought I’d use the artwork of Lindi Ortega as the illustration for this post.  Of everyone I know, musically-speaking, she cottons to the idea of using the darkness to remind us of why the light is so good.  Or, as some guy named Leo once said, “There is a crack in everything. That’s how the light gets in.”

Also, Adam, you’re a chickenshit.

– – – – –

About Angelo Barovier

I was born. I'll be around for a while. Then I won't.

Discussion

11 thoughts on “Music Monday – Chicken$%&# and Frank Turner

  1. I am not a chickens. I am busy learning the finer points of recombinant DNA technology, so I can make all vegetables taste like bacon. When you have children, you will thank me.

    Posted by Adam Bernstein | September 19, 2011, 9:57 pm
  2. Bockbockbockbock … bock-bock … ba-CAAWW!

    It takes like 5 minutes to post a simple music article with a YouTube link and some gibberish like I done did here, chum. That’s one less trip to check your fantasy NFL team. Swipe a photo of the artist or something remotely connected and you’re done. The people want to see and hear your music snobbery! Think about the people!

    PS: You were right. It is a damn fine song.
    PPS: You’re still a chickenshit. ba-CAAWW!

    Posted by Angelo Barovier | September 19, 2011, 10:13 pm
  3. Think about the people?!?!

    Bacon flavoured vegetables. ’nuff said.

    Posted by Adam Bernstein | September 20, 2011, 11:27 am
  4. Boys, quit bickering. Frank…damn good song. A few lines actually spoke directly to me. Yes, you should have posted this yourself with a link and some “gibberish” like Angelo has done. However, if you had I probably would not have discovered this.
    So, once again, thanks to Angelo. You have the strange way of introducing me to things I like, much as I hate to admit it.
    Torture

    Posted by Karma Heckard | September 20, 2011, 10:09 pm
  5. Um, no.

    Angelo was ribbing me in jest because we are friends and I would totally do the same to him. That being said, the truth is he knows why I wouldn’t post this myself and he knows the reason makes perfect sense. Maybe one day I will start my own music appreciation blog, but I definitely do not have time for that right now. I will continue to make suggestions to Angelo and he can continue to decide whether to post them, or not.

    PS: Mmmmmmmmmmm bacon flavoured vegetables.

    Posted by Adam Bernstein | September 21, 2011, 6:21 pm
  6. Don’t be so hard on yourself, dude. You aren’t crazy. Maybe a little off, but like cheese in a restaurant we will just cut those bits off.

    Posted by Adam Bernstein | September 22, 2011, 10:03 am
  7. Ah, I have to harrass Angelo a bit myself, Adam. Since I don’t know him personally I cannot vouch for him not being crazy…I like the idea of him being a little off. I would like to figure out how that brain of his works.
    I do appreciate the introducton to Frank, however; so, thank you to Adam AND Angelo. You both have great taste.

    Not too sure about the idea for bacon flavored vegetables however… ;)

    Posted by Karma Heckard | September 22, 2011, 3:29 pm

Have Your Say

