minstrels and maestros

Music Monday: Ellie Goulding, Your Song

This cover of a classic Elton John tune is just about a year old and I still clearly remember hearing it for the first time in a retail store last winter.  It stopped me in my tracks.  In a good way.

– – – – –

There are some songs that are sacred cows, decreed by the masses to never be attempted by another again.  And I am one who is quick to scoff at the fools who attempt to make the sacred cow their own.  However, once in a while, someone comes along and does something which makes me retract the Waggling Finger of Shame-On-You.

Hint: It’s not The Ataris.  And it’s not Janet Devlin.

So, Ellie Goulding gets a green light for covering one of those previously untouchable songs, mostly because she did it in a gently reworked yet clearly respectful way.  Is it better than the original?  No.  But it does feel fresh and heartfelt, and the inherent sweetness in her voice lends more to the warm-and-fuzzys of the song.  Thus, I shall save my Waggling Finger of Shame-on-You for other things and give this tune a round of solid applause.

I hope you don’t mind.

Have a great week!

– – – – –

Look, I don’t have anything against The Ataris but their Boys of Summer cover only fooled me for a few listens before I decided it really was just a soulless version of Don Henley’s original (and I couldn’t live without the Dead Head sticker, dammit).  I mean, hey, I’m glad they thought it was worth covering and semi-punkifying but they’re too young to have the wistful world-weariness which is the heart of that song.  So, no Waggling Finger of Shame-on-You for them but they do get a Deprecating Smile of Nice-Try.

About Angelo Barovier

I was born. I'll be around for a while. Then I won't.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Have Your Say

The Culprit

Hmmmm...
