minstrels and maestros

Music Monday: Matthew Good, Non Populus (Live)

Matthew Good, a moody music god in my world, played at Edge 102.1 and I have so missed his brand of wistful melancholia. 

He’s become an awkward little monkey when he’s grooving to the music but unlike the lovably bizarre Thom Yorke, there is such a connection to the material that it makes you understand how much of himself he’s put into his songs — a connection which translates and transports.

He doesn’t just perform his music, he feels it.  And it makes us feel it, too.  There is no pretense of looking cool or marketable when he’s inside the song.  The performance is about the music in which he resides.  He has a touch of Hendrix in that way.

– – – – –

I am, forever and always, a Matthew Good fan.

About Angelo Barovier

I was born. I'll be around for a while. Then I won't.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Music Monday: Matthew Good, Non Populus (Live)

  1. How can you say that Thom Yorke doesn’t display a connection with his music? I love Matthew Good, but he’s no Thom Yorke.

    Posted by Sean.Perrin | November 28, 2011, 6:29 pm
    • LOL. Easy there, tiger. I think it’s pretty accepted that there’s a certain video (Lotus Flower) with famously awkward dancing in which it’s really, really difficult for a large percentage of people to find that connection between the music and the odd gyrations. It bordered on spectacle. I’m a huge Radiohead fan, my friend, but Yorke’s musical genius to me isn’t always strongly displayed in his physical performance.

      Also, Good and Yorke make different kinds of music — though there are similarities in tone and message. I would hardly say one is a better musician than the other. Matt Good is no Thom Yorke and Thom Yorke is no Matt Good. Besides, I just like poking fun at Thom’s macro-bizarreness. It comes from a place of love. And fellowship.

      Posted by Angelo Barovier | November 28, 2011, 6:51 pm

Have Your Say

