minstrels and maestros

Music Monday: Little Drummer Boy

So, I had my “Get [Stuff] Done” playlist on yesterday and went all air-drummer crazy to a song or two.  So, here’s my Top Five Drum Songs of December 2011 – The Month of the Blood Moon.

– – – – –

And, in no particular order, nor rhyme, nor reason, nor credible expertise, here are 5 mostly rock songs which make my arms flail in ridiculously amateur fashion:

In The Air Tonight by Phil Collins is possibly the greatest moody drum song I’ve ever heard.  Got a better one?  You’re welcome to suggest but you’ll be fighting an uphill battle. I’ll tell you this: Nonpoint don’t got one.  Fie on them for trying to drown the original drum composition in their glossy rock Miami Vice cover.  They just sucked the drama right out of it.  Sucked.  No need to mess with the original because it was made of 100% Grade-A Awesome Sauce.

– – –

Radar Love by Golden Earring is probably one of the songs most likely to cause a speeding ticket (not that anyone keeps track of that).  It also has a killer drum solo in the bridge.  I amuse myself because even though that sounds like vaguely musical terminology, I have no idea what I’m talking about.  I’d be better served if I said: That part in the middle where there’s a drum solo.

– – –

While I’m not the world’s biggest Tool fan due to my inability to relinquish certain grudges (no, that’s not a reference, Tool fans) (okay, maybe a little), even I have to admit that Ticks and Leeches has just enough punk speed, growly grunge angst, and slithering melancholy to fit nicely into my taste palette.

– – –

And for a complete genre change, it’s the golden oldie Da Doo Ron Ron by The Crystals.  Yes, I’m serious.  One summer, while my then girlfriend’s parents were away, [redacted to protect the innocent] … and the clock-radio alarm went off.  It blared their oldies station and this song came on.  Seriously, turn the bass up and you’ll hear this song has drums at a killer speed.

– – –

So, I couldn’t decide between AC/DC’s Thunderstruck and Metallica’s One in the hammer spot.  I mean the first one is just head-banging ecstasy and the other is seven minutes in cadence-swapping drum heaven.  And there were others which came to mind so, I decided to break form and go old school. Like, really old school.

– – –

So, there you have it. Not exactly the Christmas theme the title implies but it suits me just fine.  Like Janet Jackson once says in Rhythm Nation’s Nasty Boys (disqualified for probable use of drum software): “Gimme a beat!”

Got a favourite drum track?  Well, speak up, little feller!  Let’s hear it.

About Angelo Barovier

I was born. I'll be around for a while. Then I won't.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Music Monday: Little Drummer Boy

  1. Because I know you, the first song I am putting on this list is because I am revoking your Jimi Hendrix fan card. Sorry, but I have to do it. Any list by a fan of Jimi that doesn’t include this track is beyond an oversight and is damn near close to sacrilege.

    So the first song is “Fire” by The Jimi Hendrix Experience.

    For the rest of the songs on my list I went by my opinion of the greatest drummers of all time.

    4. Mike Portnoy best known for his work in Dream Theater.
    “Stream of Consciousness” by Dream Theater (sorry it is in two parts, but it is an 11 minute song.

    The next three are unfortunately living in rock’n’roll heaven, which is very sad, but at least they gave us what they did before they left us. I also couldn’t chose any particular song as “the best” by any of these guys, so I just chose a few and rolled dice (nerd-style) to make my selection.

    3. John Bonham from Led Zeppelin.
    “Fool in the Rain” by Led Zeppelin

    2. Keith Moon from The Who.
    “My Generation” by The Who

    1. The Rev from Avenged Sevenfold
    “Turn the Other Way” by Avenged Sevenfold

    Posted by Adam Bernstein | December 12, 2011, 5:50 pm
    • While I accept your right to have an opinion and I certainly encouraged it (because there is no definitive list of good drum songs which is less than 100 songs long, and will forever be in dispute), you haven’t the right to revoke my Hendrixness.

      As the proud owner of a first run copy of Mitch Mitchell’s Hendrix book, and a die hard Hendrix fan, I call you out on your calling me out on my supposed ‘oversight’. IF you were a true Hendrix fan, you’d know why your claim is wholly and utterly invalid.

      And it’s not because Fire ain’t a smokin’ banger track. It sure as purple is.

      But, don’t you start a Hendrix war with me. I’ll win, padawan.

      Posted by Angelo Barovier | December 12, 2011, 6:05 pm
  2. You say potato…I say poutine.

    Posted by Adam Bernstein | December 12, 2011, 6:27 pm

Have Your Say

The Culprit

Hmmmm...
